< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Now I AM an Operator!  (Read 3190 times)

Offline Lorimor

• NFOA Full Member
  • Relay 2
Now I AM an Operator!
« on: September 23, 2013, 04:20:12 PM »
I managed to survive Vickers' 2 day "1911 Operator's" class this past Friday and Saturday.  It was well worth my time as I learned some neat little tricks to aid in taking down and re-assembling a 1911.  Also learned some good troubleshooting tips. 

If you're a 1911 guy, it's a great class to take. 
"It is better to avoid than to run; better to run than to de-escalate; better to de-escalate than to fight; better to fight than to die. The very essence of self-defense is a thin list of things that might get you out alive when you are already screwed." – Rory Miller

Offline JTH

• NFOA Full Member
  • Shooter
    • Precision Response Training
Re: Now I AM an Operator!
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 05:33:09 PM »

...and if you are a Glock guy, you don't need it. 

:P
Precision Response Training
http://precisionresponsetraining.com

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2013, 05:39:55 PM »

I found a video of some Glock training:

:P :P :P

Offline gsd

• 2013 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2013, 06:52:15 PM »

If you can afford it anyways...
It is highly likely the above post may offend you. I'm fine with that.

Offline Lorimor

• NFOA Full Member
  • Relay 2
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 08:12:03 PM »

:)

Another name for this class, straight from Vickers himself, is "Glock Appreciation Class."  He made it clear that the 1911 is NOT a good department issue gun.  It's an aficionado's gun... someone who will take the time to stay on top of the maintenance. 

And then there's always the capacity issue and slower reloads due to the single stack design.   

« Last Edit: September 23, 2013, 08:14:25 PM by Lorimor »