< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Selling pistol to private party  (Read 2774 times)

Offline Tstephens

• Powder Benefactor
Selling pistol to private party
« on: February 26, 2015, 07:27:12 AM »
Hi everyone,

I have been thinking about selling one of my pistols to a private party. I have never done this before and am just wondering what has to be done to make sure it's all legal. Thanks for the help in advance. And most likely it will be another resident of Nebraska with proper CCW or purchase permit.

Offline gsd

• 2013 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
Re: Selling pistol to private party
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2015, 07:39:51 AM »
I usually ensure that the purchaser is of legal age to purchase, possesses a valid Drivers license, and CHP.

Some go beyond into Bills of Sale, etc. also keep in mind your location, certain unnamed cities have ridiculous registration requirements.
It is highly likely the above post may offend you. I'm fine with that.

Offline OnTheFly

• Steel Benefactor
  • NFOA member #364
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2015, 12:31:02 PM »
I usually ensure that the purchaser is of legal age to purchase, possesses a valid Drivers license, and CHP.

In lieu of the CHP, some sellers will accept a Nebraska Firearm Purchase Permit, or whatever the hell it is called. 

I was wrong.  Read Allen's reply below.

Fly
« Last Edit: February 26, 2015, 03:09:13 PM by OnTheFly »
Si vis pacem, para bellum

Offline AAllen

• NFOA Co-Founder
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2015, 01:59:17 PM »
The purchaser must by Law be a citizen of the state you are selling the gun in (the same state you are a citizen in, no cross state line sales).

Since this is a pistol the purchaser must have (per State Law, this applies to individuals as well as FFL's) either a Firearm (Handgun) Purchase Certificate, Concealed Handgun Permit or Police Credentials that are valid and not expired.