< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Water softner install?  (Read 3112 times)

Offline thirtydaZe

• NFOA Full Member
Water softner install?
« on: April 20, 2014, 11:00:34 PM »
Wife wants to get one installed, personally i can do without, but as it goes.....

Anyhow, in omaha, anyone have any recomendations for service?

Offline shooter

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Water softner install?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 11:18:59 PM »
to install it? I did mine myself, but then I plumbed the whole house when I built it

its actually pretty easy, plastic pipe is easiest, copper just need solder, a older house with steel pipe. you just need a pipe threader,
Was mich nicht umbringt macht mich stärker
Sic semper evello mortem tyrannis
 NRA Endowment member
  Shoot  them in the crotch.  Clint Smith, thunder ranch.  Oct 14, 2016

Offline H2O_King89

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 12:19:57 AM »
I am a plumber out of Lincoln, there are all kinds of ways to install them.

Best place to put them is right after the meter or sprinkler system. If copper or PEX, home depot has some cool install kits you can use. There braided style lines with Shark Bite on one side and female threaded on the other. 

Water softener come with 1" male threaded adapters. Also make sure the water line coming from the meter is going to the in part of the by - pass and the out is going to the house. And plug into a 110.

IMHO I like sears softners

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Offline Mudinyeri

• God, save us!
  • NFOA Full Member
  • Run for the Hills
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2014, 07:37:14 AM »
If you need some help, give us (Handyman Joes) a call.  (Number is in my signature.)

Offline kozball

• Steel Benefactor
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2014, 09:10:42 AM »
I did mine. Copper pipe with solder joints. Actually, I am on my second unit.