< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Home Defense - Budget Shotguns - which one?  (Read 5016 times)

Offline zofoman

• NFOA Full Member
Home Defense - Budget Shotguns - which one?
« on: December 26, 2014, 10:47:04 AM »
I'm looking at budget priced (ok, cheap/$250 or less) home defense shotguns. 
Been doing some internet searching and the results are somewhat overwhelming (the youtube world is an interesting resource). 
There quite a few options out there with some foreign brands that I've not heard of until now and though cheap, some have had good reviews.   
I already have an assortment of nice shotguns so, I'm not a novice in that regard and I do understand the concept of quality versus reliability versus dollar relationship. 

So, what I'm wondering is what can the good folks of this forum offer up for recommendations in this low cost category ?   
Right now, I'm leaning toward the Savage/Stevens 320SEC.

A few examples: 
http://www.slickguns.com/product/savage-arms-stevens-320sec-12-ga-185-barrel-190-shipped
http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/manufacturers_id/73/products_id/78651

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/37/products_id/714008125/Shotguns/ASI%20PUMP%20ACTION%20PASIMAX%2012GA%2018.5%20BLK%204+1/

http://www.deguns.net/Century-Arms-SG2118-N-Tactical-Cheap-p/sg2118n.htm

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/37/products_id/78691/Shotguns/EAA%20SAR%20Pump%2012%20Gauge%203/quot;%20Capacity%2018.5/quot;%20Barrel%20Synthetic/

« Last Edit: December 26, 2014, 10:53:08 AM by zofoman »
"What, me worry?"  ~ Alfred E. Neuman

Offline tstuart34

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Home Defense - Budget Shotguns - which one?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2014, 10:56:24 AM »
Wal-Mart offers a H&R that is based on the 870. A friend has one ans he likes it. He put on all that tacticool crap for a 870. The thing I liked the most about it is that you can put any 870 mag tube on it unlike some of the other knock off guns