General Categories > Non Gun Stuff

AdvancedSystemCare8: Worth Using??

<< < (2/4) > >>

SemperFiGuy:

--- Quote ---For safeties  sake never click on an uncalled for pop up...I always kill the pop up and if I think I want to investigate further, do my own search for the product

--- End quote ---

DanW:

Yeah, we're pretty much of the same mind on that one.

I saw the pop-up and backed out.   Did the research.   Saw that the comments on ASC8 weren't too awful.   Decided to go to the Forum.

Just haven't killed it yet.  I wuz leaning in the direction of using it; leaning otherwise, just now.

Waiting for GGs and unfy's inputs, I guess.   

sfg

Mali:
SFG,
I am the go-to for the extended family for this stuff (I am an IT consultant with 20+ years in the industry) and I use Eset for my full-time A/V and Firewall solution and a paid copy of MWB as my malware protection.  I hate paying for the products, but there are certain things I just don't go cheap on. I will pay for my OS, A/V, Firewalls, malware protection, and tools that I use on a daily basis in my work.  I would highly suggest budgeting for those items, unless you are a *nix user then don't worry about that one.  ;)

If this product was brought to your attention through a Pop-Up ad on a webpage and not an ad on the page itself then I have to question the validity of the product and especially the manufacturer.  Even if it is a good product now the fact that they are willing to use a questionable practice like pop-up ads leads me to believe that they may be willing to go down darker roads in the future.

In my experience, getting a virus or malware infection and cleaning it will cost your more in time and effort than the price of the software to prevent it.  Well, that and being selective about where you go on the Internet.   :laugh:

SemperFiGuy:

--- Quote ---I am the go-to for the extended family for this stuff (I am an IT consultant with 20+ years in the industry)
--- End quote ---