< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Survival Fiction  (Read 26198 times)

Offline gigabelly

• Steel Benefactor
  • KD0RTI
Re: Survival Fiction
« Reply #140 on: February 02, 2013, 09:21:11 PM »
excellent.  I hit the tip jar a while back but want you to know that it was good enough I would gladly pay for UCJ 2. 
Government is not the solution to our problems, Government is our problem. -Ronald Reagan

Offline Mudinyeri

• God, save us!
  • NFOA Full Member
  • Run for the Hills
« Reply #141 on: February 04, 2013, 10:10:53 AM »
excellent.  I hit the tip jar a while back but want you to know that it was good enough I would gladly pay for UCJ 2. 

Thank you ... for the tip and the kind words.  I wish I could write for a living, but it just won't pay the bills at this point.

Offline gigabelly

• Steel Benefactor
  • KD0RTI
« Reply #142 on: February 04, 2013, 11:10:55 AM »
Yet. 
Government is not the solution to our problems, Government is our problem. -Ronald Reagan

Offline GreyGeek

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #143 on: February 04, 2013, 04:44:12 PM »
I wish I could write for a living, but it just won't pay the bills at this point.

Toby, you are as good a writer as any I have ever read, and that includes Arthur C. Clark, Issac Asimov, Robert J. Sawyer and other celestial objects in the  writer's sky.   I find it hard to believe that the UCJ is your first piece of major work, if it is.   But, I agree with  you.   As good as you are, and you are among the best, IMO, making a living off of it would be next to impossible.

Writing as a means of making a living is getting very difficult as publishers of paperbacks decline in number and Internet marketing proliferates.   Robert J. Sawyer had some thoughts on it.
http://www.sfwriter.com/beginner.htm