< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Buying a handgun  (Read 2061 times)

Offline bigmountainskiercfg

• Forum Member
Buying a handgun
« on: January 30, 2012, 11:00:12 PM »
There is about 8 questions in this thread.

1- I am a Utah resident (I'm guessing as I have a Utah drivers license) going to school at Creighton for the next 6 years. I am a Utah ccw permit holder and want to buy a friends .22 hand gun he is selling. Can I purchase it, if so what ate the steps. Prefer not to use an ffl to avoid stupid fees. I can buy a resident hunting license.  I Have to stay officially a Utah resident in order to participate in the dental program while here.

2- do I have to register my 7 handguns I brought out here with me. I'm living in Douglas county.

3- my wife also a Utah ccw permit holder had to get a Nebraska drivers license for her nursing job. Guessing she is a nebraska resident now. Does that void her Utah ccw permit making it not possible to conceal her .38 spl? 

Offline Gunscribe

• NFOA Co-Founder
Re: Buying a handgun
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 11:05:47 PM »
Excellent questions and the one likely most capable of answering them is Chris Zeeb. He is a member here an FFL holder and a Nebraska CCW instructor.
Sidearms Training Academy
La Luz, NM

Offline FarmerRick

• NFOA Co-Founder
  • Antagonist of liberals, anti-hunters & hoplophobes
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2012, 06:25:36 AM »
I'll defer to a FFL for question #1

2- do I have to register my 7 handguns I brought out here with me. I'm living in Douglas county.    If you reside within the Omaha city limits or carry it in Omaha, YES.

3- my wife also a Utah ccw permit holder had to get a Nebraska drivers license for her nursing job. Guessing she is a nebraska resident now. Does that void her Utah ccw permit making it not possible to conceal her .38 spl?    Yes.  A Nebraska resident may NOT carry under another state's CCW permit.