< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: New to Trap  (Read 3937 times)

Offline pt3d

• Forum Member
New to Trap
« on: October 17, 2012, 05:25:28 AM »
Well, my eldest child went out shooting with me the other day, and she enjoyed it.  Only had one full size 12 ga shotgun, and she had a huge grin.

Had been looking up trap shooting and seems like most people used over/under shotguns.  This weekend, we found what looked like a low mileage over/under 12 ga Stoeger Condor.  It was very windy sunday morning, but took it out to try shooting and we didn't shoot very well.  I've never used one of these before, and forgot to ask about it when at the fire as well.  Only loaded one round at a time, and I think the lower barrel shoots first.  Missed every target that flew.  We were kinda in a hurry since the kids had activities to go to.  I'm new to this Trap thing, and am a total noob on this shotgun.

I'm kinda wondering if I made a mistake.  She's 11 and skinny gal.  At the minimum, we'll need to have the stock cut/fitted for her.  With tax and everything, came out to a little under $400.

should we should try to sell back to the gun store and get her a tiny little shotgun??

Any advice would be great. Thanks!

Offline AAllen

• NFOA Co-Founder
Re: New to Trap
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2012, 08:54:40 AM »
pt3d My 16 year old daughter is also just getting started in trap so I will share what I have learned over the last few months.