< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Obtaining a CCW permit  (Read 721 times)

Offline Fr33Th1nK3r

• Forum Member
Obtaining a CCW permit
« on: January 16, 2013, 08:35:41 PM »
Hello guys and gals!  This is my first post and intend it not to be even close to my last.  I'm excited to be a part of this community!

I'm a complete noob when it comes to owning a firearm but not completely new to firearms in general.  I had very limited "training" when I was in the Air Force.  I also volunteered to perform security police duty on a few occasions while in the military.  That being said, I have a question regarding obtaining a ccw permit.  Here's my dilemma:

I don't have a firearm yet but I put one on layaway just yesterday and I intend on paying off the balance in the next few weeks.

I know that in Omaha (Douglas Co.), registering a firearm isn't required IF you obtain a ccw permit (I'm moving to Sarpy county in June where they don't require registering a firearm at all, so I'd rather not register in Omaha either). But how can I get a ccw permit if I don't get the registration which allows me to pick up the firearm from the vendor? Am I missing something?

I'm assuming that when I go to the Douglas Co. Sheriff's office I'm supposed to tell them that I won't be registering since I intend on getting the ccw permit.  But again, how can I pay off and obtain the firearm without the registration?  Any help would be much appreciated.  Thanks for your time!

A-FIXER

Re: Obtaining a CCW permit
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2013, 08:54:37 PM »
Weclome aboard and there will be some good people who will help you out I live in G.I. i'm no help but welcome

Offline Fr33Th1nK3r

• Forum Member
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2013, 08:57:17 PM »
Weclome aboard and there will be some good people who will help you out I live in G.I. i'm no help but welcome

Hey thanks for that!

Offline JimP

• Steel Benefactor
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2013, 09:15:42 PM »
First, Welcome to the Forum!