< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Rem 870 Barrel and choke tube split  (Read 4423 times)

Offline Ram Ringer

• NFOA Full Member
Rem 870 Barrel and choke tube split
« on: March 12, 2013, 04:50:34 PM »
Has anyone ever had this happen? The barrel has about a 1/4" split starting at the muzzle. The Choke tube is split the whole length. The gun is not even a year old, but the choke has seen thousands of rounds put through it. It is my work gun, I am a Wildlife Biologist that uses the gun almost everyday. The choke tube is a full choke and is listed for steel and lead, but like I said it has seen thousands of rounds. If the tube gave out would that also crack the barrel?

Thanks

Galen
"The Most Important Political Office Is That Of The Private Citizen"  Louis Brandeis

Offline gsd

• 2013 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
Re: Rem 870 Barrel and choke tube split
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2013, 04:57:57 PM »
I've never seen it happen...PM inbound.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2013, 05:00:35 PM by gsd »
It is highly likely the above post may offend you. I'm fine with that.

Offline SemperFiGuy

• Steel Benefactor
  • GG Grampaw Wuz a DamYankee Cavalryman
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 04:59:43 PM »
Ram.......

You now have a Wall Hanger, at least temporarily.   It's in NO SHOOT condition right now.

If you love the gun, you can readily buy another choked barrel for it.

But........better have your favorite competent gunsmith look it over.   In case the action has taken any kind of hit from heavy loads, whatever.

Speculation from this far away would be fun, but it really takes a physical look at the damage to start the inquest as to what actually has gone wrong.    Could be lotsa things.

>>>>>Gunsmith<<<<<<<

sfg