< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Thoughts on an open carry gathering  (Read 5123 times)

Offline wusker

• NFOA Full Member
Thoughts on an open carry gathering
« on: April 08, 2013, 03:26:13 PM »
So I had a blast going to the rally at the state capitol a few months back, but we havent really done anything since then. And I saw a youtube video the other day on a group of folks open carrying just to raise awareness in the community, I am not a big proponent of open carry as I would not want somone to knnow i was carrying but I do love the message/ideal. so anyways it gave me an idea. Now with the current anti-gun climate, and the proposed gun legislation for background checks which will only lead to more registration and eventually confiscation, NOW seems like the good time to organize an picnic or gathering of folks for coffee/ breakfast, or whatever that we as members can attend and hopefully bring continued education to the public through a show of responsible gun ownership.

So any ideas?

Offline johncavh

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Thoughts on an open carry gathering
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2013, 08:11:42 PM »
is'nt nebraska an open carry state ???

Offline Gary

• NFOA Full Member
    • Guns 2 Roses
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2013, 09:07:21 PM »
The issue with open carry, is it is OK as long as no one does it.  The second someone starts walking down O street in Lincoln NE with a deer rifle over his shoulder, as a way of attracting attention, the gun folks go from looking one way, to looking like spooks.  Not just the guy with the rifle on O street, we all look like spooks. 

I am opposed to open carry, because it makes us look like we are at odds with law and order.   It does not place us at odds with law and order, it just looks like it does.