< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: How did you start/train you kids in gun safety?  (Read 691 times)

Offline springfield40

• Forum Member
How did you start/train you kids in gun safety?
« on: May 01, 2013, 05:13:35 PM »
With the recent events of gun tragedy's it has brought me to think about how I did as a parent to train my kids as well as others who had spent time with us shooting or hunting. The lessons of gun safety should never end in our lives, but it all started somewhere. So the question arises.

How did you start/train you kids in gun safety?

I like most here started my kids with shooting my own guns with me of course. Then at the age of 7 got their own Red Rider BB guns. I set up a dirt berm in the back yard and only let them shoot (with me present) one at a time. (I have twins sons) After they showed me that they could handle the BB gun correctly, and own it responsibly I graduated them to their own 20 gauge shot guns. I did this at about 12 years old. I chose the shotgun for two reasons. 1) the shotgun has very limited range over the .22 and errant shots don't go far. 2) I hunt duck primarily over anything else so it also made sense to train them in the shotgun first.

On their first day out with their own guns to learn how to use them. I took along a few learning tools

*  2 gallon jugs of water
*  A half sheet of 1/4" plywood
*  A couple of 2" x 4"

Before we started I asked them to try to break the 2 x 4's and of course they did their best to no avail. I then asked them, is the board stronger than your legs? To which they said yes. So at about 5 yards away I had them shoot the boards, and we all know what happened next. And I asked them what would happen if you shot your brother in the leg with that gun? (Clear message)

I did the same with the plywood and used it as an example of skin....same action and result their eyes were wide open when they saw the ragged hole.