< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Pistol Standard Deviation  (Read 2752 times)

Offline OnTheFly

• Steel Benefactor
  • NFOA member #364
Pistol Standard Deviation
« on: June 13, 2013, 09:46:19 AM »
I am new to reloading, though I am working with a friend who has done a lot of reloading for precision rifle.  We went to the range and chrono'd several different loads and found that we had a Standard Deviation (SD) of around 30.  However, the accuracy out to 25 yards was, in my amateur opinion, very good.  I was shooting off of a rest at a 6 (or maybe 8?) inch target and I grouped five rounds quite close.  Of course "close" is considering the basic pistol sights, my ability to hold said sights in the same position, and my trigger pull. In the attached photo, the five shots are in a line at lower left from about the 7 to 8 o'clock position.

My friend is used to seeing a much smaller SD, but logic seems to dictate that in a pistol caliber which is normally not shot beyond 25 yards, a larger SD is acceptable. 

What say you pistol reloading experts?  Is my logic sound? Edumacate me.

Fly
« Last Edit: June 13, 2013, 01:28:25 PM by OnTheFly »
Si vis pacem, para bellum

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
Re: Pistol Standard Deviation
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 04:49:58 PM »
Sounds about right to me.  I shoot for single digit SD in rifles if I can, but for handguns I doubt it wod make much of a difference unless you're doing something like IHMSA silhouettes out to 200 meters.

Offline unfy

• Lead Benefactor
  • !!! SCIENCE !!!
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2013, 06:30:44 PM »
If ya aint got the pistol in a vice then there's just too much movement & play that can come into effect.

Compare all the ammo you load up with some factory and go from there.
hoppe's #9 is not the end all be all woman catching pheramone people make it out to be ... cause i smell of it 2 or 3 times a week but remain single  >:D