< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: What I have experienced at shooting matches  (Read 9223 times)

Offline OnTheFly

• Steel Benefactor
  • NFOA member #364
What I have experienced at shooting matches
« on: October 13, 2013, 12:38:40 AM »

Let me preface this rant with a few statements...
  • I DO appreciate all the participation from the area shooters in local matches
  • As far as RO's go I am relatively inexperienced
  • My intent here is not to embarrass or discourage anyone from shooting these matches
  • I am ONLY asking people to take the RO's suggestions to heart and improve their level of safety
  • I made the same errors, maybe even worse, two to three years ago when I started shooting the local matches
I was putting in my time to help RO at a local match.  There were a few shooters who had minor safety infractions.  A few were "younger" shooters who I had not met before, and they were receptive to my input.  Those were positive experiences that I hope were taken the right way.

The negative experiences were only negative because I KNOW several of these shooters have frequented the same match I was RO'ing.  They have had multiple comments from RO's cautioning their bad habits or lack of attention to their actions.

One of the gentlemen that sticks out in my head was at the last match I RO'd several months ago.  I was recording the scores while a very accomplished shooter who I have great respect for was running the timer.  After the aforementioned individual shot, we were down range scoring when one (or both) of us got fouled up on the count.  I advised the other RO that something was amiss.  He stepped over to me and quietly said “I DON’T want to run this guy again because he scares the CRAP out of me”.  Point taken and his score was finalized.  Was it fair?  Probably not.  Was it prudent? I think so considering that sometimes the best way to keep things safe is to reduce exposure with the hopes that the RO’s suggestions will be taken to heart.