< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: holster location vs. rotator cuff surgery  (Read 2811 times)

Offline Mark B

• NFOA Full Member
holster location vs. rotator cuff surgery
« on: February 11, 2014, 05:09:38 PM »
Need some opinions on holster location. I have always carried at 4 o clock right handed. (Sig239, CB Supertuck). Due to some lingering issues and limited range of motion due to rotator cuff surgery 15 months ago I am considering front carry. Does anyone have any thoughts on a good holster and any pros and cons to front carry? Thanks in advance.

Offline sjwsti

• NFOA Full Member
Re: holster location vs. rotator cuff surgery
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2014, 05:18:42 PM »
I have been carrying in the appendix position for several years now. Started off with the Dale Fricke Joab. I am currently using the Dale Fricke Archangel. It is a bit more comfortable and I prefer the snap loops.

Pros; Quickest and most accessible position to have your gun. Also the easiest to defend.

Cons; Not terribly comfortable. You cant carry with an open front jacket or shirt. And must have the right body type (sorry, no beer bellies)

- Shawn
"It's not what you know that will get you into trouble; it's what you know that isn't true"

www.88tactical.com

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2014, 06:31:24 PM »
 I used to appendix carry a lot because I have nerve damage on my left side and too much pressure on my hip from a belt can cause a lot of pain.  That's gradually gotten better with time so I switched over to 4:00 carry.

Appendix carry conceals very well as long as you have the correct cover garment.  I used to carry a S&W 642 in a belly band holster since that was about as much weight I could bear around my waist for an extended period, and with a shirt covering it you absolutely could not tell it was there even if you knew where to look.