< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Costco  (Read 2776 times)

Offline Bachlorjoe

• NFOA Full Member
Costco
« on: March 08, 2014, 05:19:08 PM »
So from what I understand, when you sign up for a membership you are agreeing not to carry. So they do not put signs up. I still go there about once a month and I do carry, but I am not a member my wife is. I have not agreed to their policies and there is no sign up so I don't see why I can't walk right on in as my wife's guest.

Offline Gary

• NFOA Full Member
    • Guns 2 Roses
Re: Costco
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2014, 06:13:43 PM »
I am not a lawyer, and I don't play one on TV, but my thinking is if a store is not playing by the letter, and the intent of the law, they have no way of blocking people from being law abiding.  No sign on the door, no restrictions?  Not that simple?

If a store sends everyone in the state a certified letter saying to stay out with Concealed carry, and does not place a simple sign on entry doors, saying no Concealed Carry, what weight would the Certified letters hold?

Statute 69-2441 (2) says the notice can be made "directly".    I have not been teaching this in my CHP classes, but I guess, maybe I should add that. 
« Last Edit: March 08, 2014, 06:21:38 PM by Gary »

Offline jFader

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2014, 11:07:19 PM »
Hahaha.  Catch me if you can!  I don't think that there would be anything legally enforceable on you...
I would also imagine that they would give you a warning before suspending your membership. I almost switched to Costco before I entered the ccw lifestyle....not now! Sams club all day!
The 2nd Amendment is not open for debate!

NRA Member
SAF Life Member
Proud NFOA Member

Offline Bucket

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2014, 03:00:38 PM »