< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Commuting to firing range question  (Read 1449 times)

Offline bgrizzly98

• NFOA Full Member
Commuting to firing range question
« on: August 30, 2015, 02:15:52 AM »
Hi all,

I apologize if this has been asked, but I haven't really found any information I can make sense of.

I want to get to a shooting range to begin practicing with my handgun before I take my CCW class in the future. I have lots of experience with M4m/M16 a few machine guns, and 50 Cal machine guns, but have never fired a handgun.

How do I legally transport my handgun and ammo to a shooting range? I think the best answer I've heard is put it and the loaded magazines in a case and put it all the way in the back of my suv, but I've also read what seems like it would be ok if I carried it unloaded in plain sight on the front seat.

Thanks for any reply

Offline OnTheFly

• Steel Benefactor
  • NFOA member #364
Re: Commuting to firing range question
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 06:23:28 AM »
You are correct on both modes of transport. Either...

1) Unloaded, cased, and inaccessible by passengers, or

2) Can be loaded, but must NOT be concealed which means in plain sight.

I called the NSP years ago when I got my first handgun and asked that question. The officer I spoke to suggested that if you get stopped, to place the pistol on the dash. However, I would make sure this is done well before the officer walks up to the vehicle. Personally, I think having it in plane sight could cause more complications than it is worth.

Fly
Si vis pacem, para bellum

Offline barmandr

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 10:51:38 AM »
But, if travelling through Omaha, with no CCW, you'd better have it registered in Omaha or risk being busted for it, correct?

Offline bgrizzly98

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2015, 11:48:38 AM »