< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: .22mag Scope Mounts  (Read 1576 times)

Offline Ronvandyn

• Pollywog
  • Powder Benefactor
.22mag Scope Mounts
« on: December 22, 2009, 01:31:35 PM »
Hi All,

I have an older bolt action .22 magnum rifle that my father-in-law gave me for Xmas a few years back.  It shoots well but the non-adjustable iron sights just are nowhere near accurate.  I was wanting to do some varmint hunting with this one in the future but can?t do it with the sights that are on it. 

So, I am looking for options for putting a scope onto it.  It is not tapped for scope mounts, and I do not have access to the tools necessary to do it.  Not that there are any mounts out there that will fit it.  I was thinking along the lines of a side mount setup, or some type of clamp mount system, but the internet is a bit thin on reference items like this (at least that I can find, and I'm a pretty good internet researcher). 

Suggestions welcome, requested, and appreciated. 

Ron
NE-CHP Holder, USAF Veteran, NRA Member,  ENGC Member
KC0MXX

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
Re: .22mag Scope Mounts
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2009, 03:06:04 PM »
What brand is it?  There are a few places that make mounts which attach in place of the rear sight.  You have to use a long eye relief / handgun scope but it allows you to mount a scope without any permanent modifications.  Maybe someone makes one for yours.

Offline FarmerRick

• NFOA Co-Founder
  • Antagonist of liberals, anti-hunters & hoplophobes
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2009, 04:50:41 PM »
Yeah...make, model and approximate year made would help out as far as determining what your options are. 
I take it that the rifle doesn't have the usual 3/8" scope-mounting groove on the top of the receiver?
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

A-FIXER