< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Handgun Cleaning Class?  (Read 1567 times)

Offline CrazyGolfNut

• NFOA Full Member
Handgun Cleaning Class?
« on: October 06, 2016, 08:13:02 PM »
I am new to handguns.  I have taken a basic handgun class and a CCW class.  I am now looking for a hands on class that will help me learn how to clean a handgun.  The basic class that I took talked about but we never did it.  I am looking for a hands on “do it” type class.  Is there anyone in the Omaha area that teaches this?  Thanks.
“He flourished his sword, I pulled out my gun and shot him”
Harrison Ford / Indiana Jones

Offline SemperFiGuy

• Steel Benefactor
  • GG Grampaw Wuz a DamYankee Cavalryman
Re: Handgun Cleaning Class?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2016, 09:08:02 PM »
PM sent.

Also forgot to mention in PM that the Web will have a large number of gun cleaning videos available for your review, such that you'll never need to attend a class or demonstration if you don't wish to do so.

Just Google "cleaning a Glock 23" or whatever specific handgun you wish to clean.

You'll get hits.

One point to understand early in the game is that there are many favorite methods, tools, solvents, cleaners, sprays, brushes, lubricants, etc. employed by various shooters.   Most all of them work.   Some shooters are very dedicated to their own particular cleaning, lubricating, and storage methods and will argue that their particular method is The Best.  They are correct.   It is the best method for them.

You will develop your own techniques as you move along.

sfg
« Last Edit: October 06, 2016, 09:14:23 PM by SemperFiGuy »
Certified Instructor:  NE CHP & NRA-Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun, Personal Protection Inside/Outside Home, Home Firearm Safety, RTBAV, Metallic Cartridge & Shotshell Reloading.  NRA Chief RSO, IDPA Safety Officer, USPSA Range Officer.  NRA RangeTechTeamAdvisor.  NE Hunter Education (F&B).   Glock Armorer

Offline NE Bull

• 2011 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion Award winner