< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Is it normal for semi auto hand gun to throw spent cartrdiges backwards?  (Read 2383 times)

Offline StuartJ

• NFOA Full Member
I'm very new to shooting.  In fact I'm just shot two handguns both this week. A .22 pistol which I enjoyed. Don't remember model. And a Springfield XD mod 2 9mm which I didn't enjoy so much.  First off I had a harder time loading the 9mm mag than the .22 mag. Second the 9mm kept tossing the spent shells back at me. The .22 sent them away from me. Don't know if it was the gun or if I was doing something wrong. I was also more accurate with the .22. More holes lower on the target and to the right with the 9mm. In any case, I'm going to rent a revolver next week, see if I like it better.

Whatever I end up eventually purchasing I definitely need coaching.
"I ask, who are the militia? They consist now of the whole people, except a few public officers.”
-- George Mason

Offline shooter

• NFOA Full Member
 some guns throw the brass back at you.. my ex wife had a real problem with that ,,  sometimes you can have the extractor adjusted so it throws it somewhere else,   and the sights may need to be adjusted.  if you get a nice group, but it is off center, just adjust the sights
Was mich nicht umbringt macht mich stärker
Sic semper evello mortem tyrannis
 NRA Endowment member
  Shoot  them in the crotch.  Clint Smith, thunder ranch.  Oct 14, 2016

Offline RLMoeller

• Sponsor- NFOA Firearm Raffle at the 2009 Big Buck Classic. 2010 Firearm Rights Champion Award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
Depends on the ammo and the gun.  Teresa has an XDs 45 that when I shoot it will hit my glasses on the bridge of my nose.  For her it just barely misses her, flying over her right shoulder. 

Offline Lmbass14

• Powder Benefactor
  • Red Horse - Semper Ducimus
Could be the ejector.  My G23 converted to a 9mm has that issue.  Did a google search, and it's a fairly common problem. Could be any of the aforementioned too.