< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: im a ccw Iowa resident , do I have to get guns regist. in Omaha still??  (Read 2535 times)

Offline motorcyclemike64

• Forum Member
Hey guys, i have been searching alot about Omaha ne and have been getting mixed answers about if i have to go get my guns registered with the police department there in order to ccw there with my ia ccw??  i know that i think that the law says that i can but would anyone close to ne do it and feel comfortable if they were stopped?? i called the ne state patrol a couple of days ago they said that ne honoured our ia ccw but that i would have to call the city of omaha police dept to get info on omaha specifically. i did and they sounded sort of unsure but then told me that i definatly had to get my guns registered with omaha to carry legally.
   What should I do??    is this still omahas stand or did someone from the police dept just tell me that guessing

http://nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/C...Final/LB430.

25 Sec. 5. Cities and villages shall not have the power
to regulate the ownership, possession, 1 or transportation of a
2 concealed handgun, as such ownership, possession, or transportation
3 is authorized under the Concealed Handgun Permit Act, except as
4 expressly provided by state law. Any existing city or village
5 ordinance, permit, or regulation regulating the ownership,
6 possession, or transportation of a concealed handgun, as such
7 ownership, possession, or transportation is authorized under the
8 act, is declared to be null and void as against any permitholder
9 possessing a valid permit under the act.

This sounds very clear cut

Offline motorcyclemike64

• Forum Member
Re: im a ccw Iowa resident , do I have to get guns regist. in Omaha still??
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2010, 02:43:45 AM »
PS also i have seen some of the post on this aleady but only wonering if anythings changed yet?

Offline huskergun

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor