< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: registering a handgun  (Read 2025 times)

Offline bczyz

• Forum Member
registering a handgun
« on: January 17, 2010, 03:28:09 PM »
Is it a felony if you don't register a pistol in Omaha? What if you bought one awhile ago and haven't had time to get to the opd station to register the gun? Do I just tell them that or tell them Ijust bought the gun from a private seller? I do have a handgun purchase permit and may have bought the gun outside of the city limits.(cabelas)

Offline FarmerRick

• NFOA Co-Founder
  • Antagonist of liberals, anti-hunters & hoplophobes
Re: registering a handgun
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 04:27:59 PM »
I am not a lawyer, and do not give legal advice.  I hope this will help you find the answer to your questions.

From the Omaha municipal codes here(chapter 20, article VII): http://library5.municode.com/default-test/home.htm?infobase=10945&doc_action=whatsnew

DIVISION 2.  FIREARM REGISTRATION

Sec. 20-251.  Required.
(a)   It shall be unlawful for any person to own, have possession of, or maintain control over any concealable firearm which has not been registered to said person with the chief of police in accordance with this division, except when such possession or control is with the knowledge and express consent of the person in whose name such concealable firearm is registered.
(b)   A corporation, including a body corporate created by Nebraska statute, may register a concealable firearm in its corporate name. However, the corporation may consent to a person possessing or controlling the corporation's registered concealable firearm only if that person:
(1)   Is a part-time or full-time employee of the corporation;
(2)   Is acting within the scope of his or her employment with the corporation; and,
(3)   Possesses a current identification card issued pursuant to section 20-208 upon satisfaction of the requirements of section 20-207.
(Code 1980, ? 20-251; Ord. No. 36045, ? 1, 9-24-02)