< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Other Firearms that shoot shotgun shells  (Read 1116 times)

Offline David Hineline

• NFOA Full Member
Other Firearms that shoot shotgun shells
« on: December 12, 2019, 11:00:11 PM »
So NE laws has rules regarding vehicle transport of shotguns,    How are NE law enforcement and prosecutors dealing with Other shot shell based firearms, Like braced or birdshead gripped shotshell firearms, since by legal definition they are not a shotgun?
Machinegun owners blow thier load with one pull of the trigger

Offline zofoman

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Other Firearms that shoot shotgun shells
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2019, 10:48:23 AM »
I'm not a legal expert, but I would think this comes under the determination/definition of a Long Gun versus Hand Gun....regardless of what lead comes out of the barrel.   Shotguns can shoot a slug and handguns can shoot bird shot.  Actually "anything" can come propelled out of a barrel if your name is Bubba...check youtube for many examples. 

"What, me worry?"  ~ Alfred E. Neuman

Offline JAK

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2019, 12:40:28 PM »
I am also not a legal expert, but I did some research and I believe the law that you are referring to is this one.

37-522. Shotgun on highway; restrictions; violation; penalty.
It shall be unlawful to have or carry, except as permitted by law, any shotgun having shells in either the chamber, receiver, or magazine in or on any vehicle on any highway. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a Class III misdemeanor and shall be fined at least fifty dollars

Section 37 deals with Game and Parks (i.e. Hunting) and dose not define what a shotgun is.

I was not able to find a legal definition of a shotgun anywhere in the Nebraska statues, so I went looking into Federal Statues and the definitions used in US Code 26 and information regarding pistol grip firearms issued to FFL's by the ATF in Nov 2009 (included below).