< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: This should get your blood pressure up - Brazen Thieves  (Read 822 times)

Offline zofoman

• NFOA Full Member
This should get your blood pressure up - Brazen Thieves
« on: January 28, 2022, 10:39:33 AM »
I saw this video posted on another site from up in the Northwest.  It makes me angry watching this and brings up all sorts of questions on what to do.

While one of the thieves is stealing a catalytic converter from a Prius, his partner points a firearm at the door of the homeowner.

Bellevue, Washington

The video/news report says it all (you may need to click on the video volume to turn it on):
https://www.kiro7.com/news/local/video-catalytic-converter-thieves-target-bellevue-family/ee293957-fcab-42c3-9fb2-fa181c01138e/

I'm no lawyer, so how would Nebraska law(s) state what one could/should do in a situation such as this?

Clearly, the perp is threatening any/all within the house...yes, he's outside of the house, but definitely on the homeowner's property and blatantly stealing property belonging to the homeowner.  Is the homeowner justified if he goes out and shoots one or both of these twits?   Again, the perp with the gun is pointing in a threatening manner to all within the house.   So many questions here....

"What, me worry?"  ~ Alfred E. Neuman

Offline eelstrebor1

• NFOA Full Member
Re: This should get your blood pressure up - Brazen Thieves
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2022, 09:27:43 PM »
I think this applies to such a situation in Nebraska:

"In Nebraska there is a duty to retreat before any kind of force can be for self defense."

https://www.gunlaws101.com/state/law/nebraska/stand-your-ground

"Nebraska's castle law states that any force used must be deemed necessary by the person protecting themselves. Deadly force can be used but only if the person believes that it is necessary to avoid rape, serious injury, kidnapping, or death. There is a duty to retreat when the person is not at their home or place of work."