< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: My new smoker  (Read 1856 times)

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
My new smoker
« on: May 03, 2010, 08:14:13 AM »
I'm pretty excited about this...

I've been cooking on an el cheapo Brinkman smoker for the last 4-5 years and it's ok, but nothing special.  It needs the charcoal replaced every 2-3 hours, which makes smoking something like a brisket a real pain, especially if I'm doing it overnight for lunch.  It also doesn't hold much meat.  I wanted something bigger and more efficient, but I'm cheap, so I decided to build it myself.  I found a thread on "Ugly Drum Smokers" here http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23436 and decided to give it a try.  It sounds like these things are taking the barbeque world by storm, since they make great Q without having to dump a lot of money into a professional rig.

So, I found a used drum that formerly held soybean oil and went to work.  I used a jigsaw with a metal cutting blade to cut the top out, and added a lid from a knock off of a Weber grill.  I think it turned out pretty well.  On my first test this weekend it ran for 7 hours on a 1/2 load of charcoal, without having to adjust the air vents much.  It made the best smoked chicken I've ever had, along with a bunch of sausage too.  If you're into barbeque and are competent enough to run a drill and saw you owe it to yourself to build one of these:

Offline Hardwood83

• Powder Benefactor
  • Molon Labe
Re: My new smoker
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 11:01:41 AM »
Outstanding. I'll email you my address so you can drop off some pork loin, I'm thinking 5lbs. How does Sat morning sound? Great see you then!
"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud

Offline NE Bull

• 2011 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion Award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
    • A "friend's" blog
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 11:08:09 AM »