< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Check your pistol brass!  (Read 3432 times)

Offline unfy

• Lead Benefactor
  • !!! SCIENCE !!!
Check your pistol brass!
« on: July 01, 2010, 06:47:08 PM »
Just got back from The Bullet Hole in Omaha.

Ran 50 rounds of my first batch of reloaded 40 S&W through my Sig P229 Equinox. 

* Mix headstamp range brass
* 180gr Hornady HP XTP
* 6.0-6.5gr of Unique (6.7 or 6.8 gr is listed max under latest Speer, and my powder thrower wasn't being exceedingly consistent, prolly due to humidity)
* Winchester Small Pistol primers

A bit more recoil than factory, but it performed nicely.  I'm relatively new to semi-auto pistols... so although my first shot is typically in the X, the rest of the magazine (even when at a slow assured pace) tends to be wander within 2-3 inches at 7yd).  I prolly need to work on my grip, meh.

Picked up a hundred 40 S&W brass off the ground as well as some 45ACP.  Was inspecting the brass on a smoke break at work and came across my first failed pistol brass, see attached pics.

So... don't assume pistol brass is good just because it hasn't been stepped on!

[attachment deleted by admin]
hoppe's #9 is not the end all be all woman catching pheramone people make it out to be ... cause i smell of it 2 or 3 times a week but remain single  >:D

Offline justsomeguy

• Defender of the Constitution
  • NFOA Full Member
Re: Check your pistol brass!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 07:05:23 PM »
Glad you caught it. Inspection should be part of you normal brass prep. Is it?
"The first rule is to keep an untroubled spirit. The second is to look things in the face and know them for what they are." - Marcus Aurelius

Offline unfy

• Lead Benefactor
  • !!! SCIENCE !!!
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 07:26:27 PM »