< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Interesting Take on Dealing With Robbers  (Read 941 times)

Offline MikeF72

• NFOA Full Member
Interesting Take on Dealing With Robbers
« on: July 10, 2010, 06:52:40 PM »
Just ran across this on Drudge.  Here's the link to the actual news story:  http://www.kwgn.com/news/kdvr-elderly-man-shoots-thieves-txt,0,2612691.story

They tried to run him over!  That would seem to be a reasonable threat justifying force to me, but then I'm no lawyer.  What do you all think?

I just hope some organization stands up to help defend this guy.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Elderly man facing serious charges for shooting at thieves

Julie Hayden Investigative Reporter

7:22 PM MDT, July 7, 2010
Robert Wallace

WHEAT RIDGE, Colo. - Legal analyst Dan Recht said he believes the Jefferson County District Attorney is "seriously overcharging" a Wheat Ridge homeowner, accused of attempted first degree murder for shooting at two thieves.

82-year-old Robert Wallace said he fired two shots at two men when they tried to run him over while stealing his flatbed trailer.

Wallace now faces twelve felony counts, including four counts of attempted first degree murder, for what he described as an act of defending his property and his life. If convicted, he could spend the rest of his life in prison.

One of the thieves, Damacio Torres later admitted to the theft. He and his partner in crime, Alvara Cardano both have prior arrest records and are believed to be in the country illegally.

But they are not facing any charges.

Recht said, in his experience, prosecutors overcharge cases to force a person to plea bargain. He argued that it's just not right to put a person through that kind of mental and financial stress.