< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Primer Problem  (Read 1776 times)

Offline Ronvandyn

• Pollywog
  • Powder Benefactor
Primer Problem
« on: November 21, 2010, 02:32:15 PM »
OK, so I have this little problem. 

When I went to Cabela's a few weeks ago I bought primers, and didnt notice that they were Magnum primers.  So I have loaded quite a few of them up, even shot a few without problem, but today I actually noticed that they were not regular primers but magnum.

I'm loading 45acp (large primer), 40 S&W, and 380acp.  I am not loading anywhere near max load for any of them, just target loads. 

Question:  How much more powerful are magnum primers over regular one's and will this cause problems? 

Obviously I feel like a complete dope for not noticing, but I'm still new to this whole reloading thing and am (I hope) making the usual mistakes.

Ron

NE-CHP Holder, USAF Veteran, NRA Member,  ENGC Member
KC0MXX

Offline Dan W

• NFOA Co-Founder
Re: Primer Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 03:26:52 PM »
Ron, I have read many posts online that suggest your mid range target loads will not be a problem with magnum primers, and I have seen others recommending a .1 -.2 grain reduction in powder when using magnum primers. That is often within the deviation of a good powder measure, so I would not fret too much over it.

If I was worried at all it would be the .40 cal loads.

If you can chronograph them, that would be the evidence you need to allay all fears of an overload
Dan W    NFOA Co Founder
Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life and who are willing to consciously work and sacrifice for that freedom.   J. F. K.

Offline RLMoeller

• Sponsor- NFOA Firearm Raffle at the 2009 Big Buck Classic. 2010 Firearm Rights Champion Award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 03:28:00 PM »