< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Any Hams on here?  (Read 3499 times)

Offline Mudinyeri

• God, save us!
  • NFOA Full Member
  • Run for the Hills
Any Hams on here?
« on: November 30, 2011, 07:41:52 AM »
I'm thinking about getting a Ham Radio license and buying a transceiver setup.  Are there any Hams on here that can give me some good general get-started advice?

Offline sparky0068

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Any Hams on here?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 09:40:47 AM »
Go to the library and get the 2011 ARRL handbook and read, read, and read some more.  Then go to QRZ.com and take the practice tests, once you are comfortable with those contact a club like Lincoln Amateur Radio Club or one of you choosing (Omaha has a few) and take the test(s). 

I am a tech in Lincoln and I am usually on 146.760MHz or 146.850MHz fm.

73's KD0LKT
KD0LKT

Offline NE Bull

• 2011 NFOA Firearm Rights Champion Award winner
  • NFOA Full Member
    • A "friend's" blog
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 12:40:11 PM »
**coughgeekscough**

J/k
“It is not an issue of being afraid, It's an issue of not being afraid to protect myself.”
 Omaha Mayor Jean Stothert
 "A gun is a tool, Marian; no better or no worse than any other tool: an axe, a shovel or anything. A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that."  Shane

Offline lefty

• Powder Benefactor
  • KC0DA, NRA, USAF 57-61
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2011, 01:21:43 PM »
Been a ham for 33 years, Extra Class.

Drop me an e-mail and I am sure we can get you in
contact with a club to help you out.

KC0DA

Offline NENick

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2011, 01:22:03 PM »
**coughgeekscough**

J/k
We're going to need these geeks when the SHTF and the government shuts down communication!

Offline Mudinyeri

• God, save us!
  • NFOA Full Member
  • Run for the Hills
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2011, 07:06:43 PM »
We're going to need these geeks when the SHTF and the government shuts down communication!