< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: I'm a noob and I want to know why this is a Class III  (Read 3959 times)

Offline y0diggity

• Powder Benefactor
I'm a noob and I want to know why this is a Class III
« on: December 01, 2011, 09:39:46 PM »
http://www.kygunco.com/products2.cfm/id/37155/name/lwrc-psd-5.56-nato-8

What makes that a Class III weapon?

Thanks in advance for your help!
That which does not kill us was not trained properly.

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
Re: I'm a noob and I want to know why this is a Class III
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2011, 10:01:47 PM »
The 8" barrel.  Anything under 16" with a shoulder stock is a short barreled rifle and subject to NFA.  And totally worth the $200 fun tax.

Offline y0diggity

• Powder Benefactor
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2011, 10:55:04 PM »
So what's required to buy one? Can I get one or do I need a special FFL license or something?

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2011, 06:31:33 AM »
Fill out a Form 4 and send it off to the ATF with a $200 check.  Then wait 3-6 months.

Offline RobertH

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2011, 08:05:13 AM »
two ways to get the Form 4...  individual or trust.

individual means you get a CLEO to sign off, you get fingerprints taken and passport photo taken.

trust meeans you form a trust and skip the CLEO.

trust is faster and usually cheaper since the CLEO will most likely charge you for a background check and the finger prints.

there are also 5 categories of NFA, machineguns (MG), short barreled rifles (SBR), short barreled shotguns (SBS), destructive devices (DD) and any other weapons (AOW).  all are $200 transfer fee but AOW have a $200 manufacture fee but only a $5 transfer fee.
Follow the NFOA on Twitter: @NFOA_Official

Offline y0diggity

• Powder Benefactor
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2011, 08:18:40 AM »