< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Need legislation to allow carry on university campuses  (Read 6039 times)

Offline rudy

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Need legislation to allow carry on university campuses
« Reply #40 on: August 25, 2012, 08:54:00 PM »
I realize that there hasn't been a post in this thread for some time, but has any progress been made?

I'm a graduate student at UNL and have a MN permit to carry, which is recognized by NE.  It would be nice if my permit were valid on campus.  As an aside, MN's law allows carry on campus, but the university has the power to expel students or fire faculty/staff if found carrying.

Offline Pixtaker

• Forum Member
« Reply #41 on: September 01, 2012, 12:34:04 PM »
I would be completely opposed to a bill like this, and in fact would fight it with a passion. 

I am opposed to the current Government-issued "permit" to exercise my Constitutional Right to begin with, and you want to create even MORE RESTRICTIONS on that right?   :o

It may not be very popular with the CCW Permit instructor members of the NFOA, but the NFOA should be working towards Constitutional(permit-less) Carry, not more restrictions added onto the current mess of laws that exist.

+1

The Second Amendment is perfectly clear that citizens have the right to keep and BEAR arms and that right shall not be infringed upon.  I spent $150 to take a class and $100 application fee (not to mention full fingerprints and background checks) simply for the privilege to exercise my RIGHT as an American. 

If I am not prohibited from owning a gun by law I should not be restricted in where or how I may carry.

Offline OnTheFly

• Steel Benefactor
  • NFOA member #364
« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2012, 05:07:16 PM »
+1