< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: (Deleted)  (Read 4195 times)

Offline HarperHurst

• Forum Member
(Deleted)
« on: May 10, 2012, 02:46:33 PM »
Deleted
« Last Edit: September 04, 2018, 09:42:59 PM by HarperHurst »

Offline HuskerXDM

• 2014 NFOA Firearms Rights Champion
  • Powder Benefactor
Re: Questions concerning handgun acquisition and Open Carry.
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 05:48:25 PM »
Until you are 18, you would have to be under the supervision of someone "of age."  Once you are 18, your parents could purchase the handgun and give it to you because you would then be old enough to be in possession of the gun. 

Since there are no laws (except for the Republik of Omaha) banning OC, I believe being 18 would allow you to do this.  But you would not be able to conceal, obviously, until you are 21.

I am not a lawyer, however, so take it for what it's worth :)
The master has failed more than the beginner has even tried.

Offline AAllen

• NFOA Co-Founder
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 08:36:27 PM »
If they purchased it, to sell it to you (ie. purchasing for you) it would be a straw purchase and be illegal, because you could not legally purchase it for yourself.  But if they decided to give you a handgun as a gift that is a different story and most likely legal.  We are walking deep into the grey areas of the law with this one.

Offline FarmerRick

• NFOA Co-Founder
  • Antagonist of liberals, anti-hunters & hoplophobes
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2012, 08:56:47 PM »
Though I absolutely hate to tell anyone this...  don't open carry a handgun in Lincoln if you are under 21 years of age.  Nothing good can come from it. 

You are plenty old enough to go overseas, shoot bad guys and be shot by them, but here in Amerika.... the AUTHORITIES don't like it when we exercise our Constitutional rights.   :(
Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

Offline HarperHurst

• Forum Member
(Deleted)