< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: First LEO Contact.....  (Read 1235 times)

Offline just_me_mongo

• Powder Benefactor
  • "Shall NOT be infringed"
First LEO Contact.....
« on: October 20, 2012, 10:10:35 AM »
So yesterday I was out and about.  I have been hunting the same area for about two years now.  It was windy & cold so I just went out to do some deer watching.  I went down to my usual area and turned around.  I noticed a Sheriff parked on the roadside.

After pulling into a field that I normally pull into, I noticed that a Sheriff pulled into the field right behind me.  He put his lights on and I rolled my window down.  I told him that I had a C.H.P. and that I was carrying a gun.  He only asked "what kind of gun are you carrying?"  I told him I had my glock.  He seemed reasonable at first.

Ater returning (from running my license), he started heckling me about where I was.  He kept asking questions in regards to my location and if I knew where I was.  He also told me that my story wasn't making sense.  I am not sure why he completely changed.  He did once ask where my gun was as well.

He never did ask for my insurance or registration & he did not want to see my CHP.

It wasn't a pleasant experience by any means.  I just don't understand one thing...  If all NE CHP holders go through a FEDERAL background check, then shouldn't that say something about our character?  I guess not.  I know that it could have been worse.

The Sheriff told me that someone reported me for going into their driveway.  The best part was, I never went into anyone's driveway.  The overall contact gets two thumbs down.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2012, 11:11:47 AM by just_me_mongo »
"One of the ordinary modes by which tyrants accomplish their purposes without resistance is by disarming the people and making it an offense to keep arms." - Joseph Story

Offline bullit

• NFOA Full Member
Re: First LEO Contact.....
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 10:36:46 AM »