< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Want to buy Sporting Rifle question regarding law?  (Read 1288 times)

Offline MattW

• Forum Member
Want to buy Sporting Rifle question regarding law?
« on: November 25, 2012, 12:21:24 AM »
So I touched on this in the "Dick's Sporting Goods by Oakview" thread but I figure I would get a better response here.

The situation I am in is that I am an resident of the state of Nebraska and have been so for quite some time, but I have an out of state (North Carolina) license because I never applied for a Nebraska license when I moved back and I still live in North Carolina for 2 months of the year.

I went to Dick's to buy the S&W 15-22 LR Rifle and the guys there basically didn't know any of the laws, and after I read over the details at the bottom of the form 4473 it makes me think they are even dumber than I though.

So I filled out the 4473 with my Nebraska address and the guy that was there at the time filled in my North Carolina license ID number, as he should have according to the  form instructions. The application was approved no problems but the guy I dealt with next when I went to get the gun said I had to provide some government documents because my License ID doesn't match the residence address.

I provided them with my SSS Registration Card and also a State of Nebraska Tax Receipt for my UNO Classes. Apparently this isn't enough and there store manager is a moron who refuses to call me back and tell me the issue is.

This is what is listed at the bottom of the form for instructions on filling out the license portion.