< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: USPSA vs IDPA  (Read 2288 times)

Offline pt3d

• Forum Member
USPSA vs IDPA
« on: December 20, 2012, 03:42:01 PM »
So, I've been wondering... what is the real difference between these two?  I've looked them both up, but they seem like they're the same to me.

I do not have a handgun yet but was looking into getting one for both recreational shooting and  future-CCW.  Which of these would be good for a complete noob and would the XDM 3,8 compact do ok for the recreational shooting?

Also, by participating in one of these, how much ammo should I expect to use at an event?

Thanks in advance.

Offline SemperFiGuy

• Steel Benefactor
  • GG Grampaw Wuz a DamYankee Cavalryman
Re: USPSA vs IDPA
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 04:32:45 PM »
USPSA allows a wider range of handguns in competition.   Which means that shooters can use so-called "tricked out" race guns, which end up being very expensive to build and shoot.   And the competition is always ramping up, along with the cost.

IDPA sticks w/basic factory models, which are less expensive to buy and shoot.  Sort of a Poor Man's USPSA.   You can shoot your 9mm XD in the Stock Service Pistol class and (maybe) local Backup gun (BUG) competition.   Start with the Qualifiers.   Check out the videos on YouTube for some good examples of qualifier shooting.

The courses of fire in both USPSA and IDPA will help shooters to become more proficient at gun handling and self-defense.

Go Shoot 'Em Both.   (Many Folks Do.)   Great Shooters and Great People in Both Camps.   And you'll be a better handgunner for all that.

Number of rounds varies with each course of fire setup.    Mostly, it will be less than 50 rounds.   But--arrive early and leave late.   Shoot before and after at fixed targets in preparation for the main course of fire.

sfg
« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, 04:48:28 PM by SemperFiGuy »