< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Beginner Question(s)  (Read 3368 times)

Offline cckyle

• NFOA Full Member
  • KD0MKS
Beginner Question(s)
« on: January 15, 2013, 03:02:57 AM »
I'm very new to reloading, so sorry if these are stupid questions.  If I am doing anything wrong please point it out.  I managed to find everything I needed to get started reloading.  I am starting with 9mm as that is what I shoot the most.  Long story story I am starting with Rainier 124 grain copper plated round nose 9mm and winchester AutoComp as well as Remington small pistol primers.  I've had a hard time finding loading data for that grain and copper plated with the AutoComp.  I can find loading data for AutoComp, but not with that bullet.  I read on a couple of forums that people sometimes sub lead data for copper plated and start low.  So I compared some data online of AutoComp with other bullets and the load data in my reloading manual for the grain I am using but in lead.  I made up 3 different loads, small batches to see what might work. 
1st= 4.2g auto comp w/ 124g CPRN.  OAL 29.3mm+ I had four of these, they all fired but failed to eject/cycle each time.
2nd= 4.5g auto comp w/ 124g CPRN.  OAL 29.3mm+ I had three of these.  1st shot failure to eject, 2nd shot fired and cycled the gun, 3rd shot fired but failed to lock the slide back
3rd= 4.5g auto comp w/ 124g CPRN OAL 29.15mm+  I only had two of these, but the first one cycled the gun and the second one fired and locked the slide back. 

I don't know if it matters or not but I was using a Glock 19 for this.