< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Senate Judicairy Committee, Question about gun show loopholes.  (Read 1766 times)

Offline wusker

• NFOA Full Member
Senate Judicairy Committee, Question about gun show loopholes.
« on: January 30, 2013, 02:43:20 PM »
Hopefully most of you can find it in it's entirety I watched as much as was possible. I am new to this, being a new gun owner so I do have some questions. Be gentle with me.

-What is so bad about universal background checks?
-I am guessing they are not currently required for private sales.
-If I was selling my brand new M&P 9, I would require the buyer to have a Nebr. purchase permit, does this make me unloved by other gun owners ;)

I realize this would not fix the issue of violience as it is a systemic issue within America, And as Mr. Lapierre (sp?) explained that 78% of gun violence occurs with a handgun and out of those 10's of thousands, less than 100 were prosecuted. But it might cut back on some gun violence, and would that be worth it?

'Nuff Said
Wusker

Offline 00BUCK

• Powder Benefactor
Re: Senate Judicairy Committee, Question about gun show loopholes.
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 03:19:36 PM »
I speak for only myself, but I don't see how they would possibly prevent gang bangers and other criminals from getting firearms. The weapons they are using are not being bought at gun shows. They are most likely stolen firearms being sold on the street. Using Sandy Hook as the example that is now at the forefront, the weapons used were stolen weapons. Would universal background checks have prevented that tragedy? NO! So it is just one more stupid law that is laid upon us that will do NOTHING to stop "gun crime". And isn't that how the gun haters are packaging this - "to stop gun crime"? That said, yes I am 100% opposed to any additional stupid laws that will do NOTHING but further infringe / inconvenience my 2A rights.