< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Its On: The Second Amendment Preservation Precision Rifle Challenge  (Read 10334 times)

Offline bkoenig

• Gun Show Volunteer
  • Powder Benefactor
  • Aspiring cranky old gun nut
Re: Its On: The Second Amendment Preservation Precision Rifle Challenge
« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2013, 01:54:58 PM »
Math is hard.

I'm a newbie to mil ranging, but wouldn't it be easier to figure it in meters and just know your clicks for that measurement?  I have a mil reticle and turrets for mil clicks, so that should simplify things, right?

Offline wallace11bravo

• NFOA Full Member
  • Don't rush to failure.
    • Midwest Tactical Solutions
« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2013, 02:28:54 PM »
Mil relation is to give you the range to the target only, not your firing solution :)

Mils work well with yards or meters. If you want to figure your range in meters, the formula looks the same, just use target height in inches X 25.4 instead of 27.8 to get your constant.

You use that range to determine your firing solution. Comes back your firing rhythm:

Gather Data
Range and wind are your big 2. This is where your mil relation formula is used, to determine the range to the target.
Example:
Target range is 520
Wind is full value 5 mph

Develop and Implement firing solution
Use that gathered data to develop a firing solution.
Example: (I'm making numbers up here)
Elevation dial up 3.6 (based from your range using your dope as reference)
Windage hold left 1.3 (based on your wind, either using a formula, or the British method with your dope as reference. I recommend the latter.)

Fire
Practice good fundamentals. It is also good to have a set rythm for actually firing, and practice it to make it second nature. This can be done in dry fire. Nothing like missing a shot and realizing after the fact that your head placement was crap or you forgot to check your level. Don't get stuck on your wind correction either. Wind changes, be flexible.

Observe