< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: Motorcycle Riding NFOA Members  (Read 5201 times)

Offline Mudinyeri

• God, save us!
  • NFOA Full Member
  • Run for the Hills
Motorcycle Riding NFOA Members
« on: July 30, 2014, 09:53:39 AM »
You thought I was organizing an open carry poker ride didn't you.  :laugh:

Nah, I'm just asking a few questions.  I have a big birthday coming up and have been looking at getting a Harley as a gift to myself.  I found one on Craigslist that looks pretty good but I'm a Harley newb.

The bike is a 2000 FXST with under 10,000 miles on it.  New rear tire.  Legal ape hangers.  Screaming Eagle slip-ons.  Looks like a pretty nice bike in the pictures.  Sounds like it might have been dropped or laid down at low speed.  It had some scraped parts - primary cover, clutch control, minor rub on the tank decal.  The parts have been replaced with new HD take-offs but it still has the rub spot on the tank decal.

I'm not looking for a show bike or a long-distance cruiser, just a fun around town bike - maybe some short trips ... couple hundred miles or so.

Anything about this vintage, make and model that I should look for in particular?  10,000 miles seems fairly low for a 14 year-old bike.  I asked if it had been sitting for a long period of time.  No.  Just not ridden much.

What am I missing?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 10:45:33 AM by Mudinyeri »

Offline barmandr

• NFOA Full Member
Re: Harley Riding NFOA Members
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2014, 10:00:39 AM »
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 10:14:12 AM by barmandr »

Offline landon410

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2014, 10:10:40 AM »
that bike books for less than the asking price.

I have owned 2 bikes 1 Victory and 1 Harley, bought both damaged and replaced parts myself, so you're right to not let that scare you off.

KBB isn't the end all of auto value but according to KBB that bike isn't worth $7200
bike has a trade in value of just over $5000.