< Back to the Main Site

Author Topic: CHP Student At Big Shots Shoots Himself Sunday.  (Read 6273 times)

Offline Gary

• NFOA Full Member
    • Guns 2 Roses
Re: CHP Student At Big Shots Shoots Himself Sunday.
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2013, 04:05:33 PM »
Gary as a NE CHP instructor myself please clarify what your are"taking" to get your certification???

PM sent

Offline Bucket

• NFOA Full Member
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2013, 04:25:58 PM »
One of the More Dangerous Acts in Concealed Carry Range Qualification.........

Involves holstering a loaded firearm.

So---we holster semi-automatics only with an empty chamber in my CHP classes.   We start with chambers empty, insert the magazines in the mag wells, come to the ready position, and then holster without racking the slides to chamber rounds.   In this way we holster all semi-automatics on an empty chamber.   On the "Draw and Fire"  command, students first draw and only then rack the slide to chamber a round into battery so that they can fire their qualification series.

Nothing in the NAC Title 272, Chapter 21 administrative rules requires holstering a semi-automatic with a round in the chamber, so we don't do it.   Which adds enormously to safety on the firing line during range qualification.

Can't do the same on revolvers.   Have to holster them w/loaded rounds in the cylinder.  But....just taking the semi-autos out of the equation is a huge safety factor.

FYI,

sfg

Don't get me wrong, I understand the safety aspect, but I do have question the value of the training if it doesn't include the do's and don't's of carrying a weapon with a chambered round.  Admittedly, I'm new to this business but EVERYTHING I've read and most logic points to the fact that if you are going to carry a weapon it should be ready to go upon being drawn from the holster.

Wouldn't it be better to add that to the overall training program rather than turn people loose on the streets who are "qualified"?

Offline unfy